↑ Return to About Us

People

Artistic Director, Principal Conductor, Operations Manager: David Garber

David.Garber@EdMetroChorus.ca

David Garber is a graduate of Eastern Mennonite University (Virginia) BA Mus Ed (Trombone major), with graduate studies in Choral Conducting at the University of Alberta. He is the Founder, Operations Manager, Artistic Director & Principal Conductor of EdMetro Chorus, and has taught music and conducted choirs in public schools, Alberta College Conservatory of Music, The King’s University, and the University of Alberta.

As an arts administrator, David has worked for Pro Coro Canada, the Richard Eaton Singers, and is currently the Administrative Director of i Coristi Chamber Choir.

David was a founding member of Pro Coro Canada, and sang in the bass section for 28 seasons. He was also a founding member of VOCE – the cappella experience, has sung with Da Camera Singers, and the Richard Eaton Singers, and currently sings with i Coristi Chamber Choir.

David was the recipient of an Alberta Foundation for the Arts Award to study at the Baroque Performance Institute, Oberlin Conservatory of Music, and was also the recipient of the Alberta Choral Federation’s Con Spirito Award, in recognition of spirit, dedication and commitment to choral music. In 2012, David was nominated for a Mayor’s Award for Excellence in Artistic Direction.

 


Resident Accompanist: Remi Do

Remi Do B. Mus. moved to Canada in 2000 from her home in South Korea. She has studied with Jacques Despres and Patricia Tao at the University of Alberta, performing her own recitals in 2002 and in 2006. Remi received her music degree in 2006. She is the resident accompanist for the Edmonton Metropolitan Chorus since 2005. Also she has served for Edmonton Children’s Choir and Antioch Church of Edmonton, and teaches piano in her own studio.

 

 

 

 


Soprano Vocal Coach: Janet Smith

American-born Janet Smith came to Canada after receiving a Master’s of Music degree from the University of Michigan. Career highlights include her opera debut in “Postcard from Morocco” by Dominic Argento (conducted by Nicholas Goldschmidt at the Guelph Spring Festival), the role of Nephthys in the premiere of R. Murray Schafer’s “RA”, and the title role in “The Merry Widow” with the Hamilton Philharmonic (conductor Boris Brott) for CBC Television.

She is often heard in recital with pianist Jeremy Spurgeon, and as soloist with orchestras and choirs as diverse as Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, Pro Coro Canada, Richard Eaton Singers, Concordia Community Chorus and Orchestra, Da Camera Singers, A Joyful Noise, and is currently the Soprano Vocal Coach for Edmonton Metropolitan Chorus.

Of her performance of “Bachianas Brasileiras #5” by Heitor Villa-Lobos with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, conducted by William Eddins, Bill Rankin of the Edmonton Journal wrote, …the most spectacular part of the afternoon came from the sound of the human voice. Soprano Janet Smith’s performance – at times strikingly serene, at times strikingly passionate – was astonishing.

 


Alto Vocal Coach: Kimberley Denis

Kimberley Denis, M.Mus. Choral Conducting and Vocal Performance (University of Alberta, 2007), B.Mus. (Mount Allison University, 2003), B. Comm. (Mount Allison University, 2003) is known for her energy and enthusiasm both on stage and off, and is sought after as a soloist, choral clinician, and adjudicator for voice and choir. Upon completion of both her commerce and music undergraduate degrees at Mount Allison University in New Brunswick, she returned to her home province of Alberta where she completed a double masters degree in choral conducting and vocal performance at the University of Alberta. She also holds an associate diploma in Education (1996) and a music diploma in contemporary vocal performance from Red Deer College (1997).

Vocal credits include a nomination for 2010 and 2012 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Emerging Artist Award, recital appearances around the province, and a year-long tour with Up With People. In 2015, she starred in a production of Jason Robert Brown’s song cycle Songs for a New World and in 2014, played Cathy in The Last Five Years; both productions were held at the historic Bailey Theatre in Camrose, AB. She has worked with Live Bait Theatre in New Brunswick, appearing in many of their musical dinner theatres, and has also played Bonnie in Anything Goes, Kate in Kiss Me, Kate!, and Frumah Sarah in Fiddler on the Roof. She recorded the Alphabet Action Songs for Themes and Variations Music Publishing, and was a soprano soloist for the University of Alberta’s recording of the Dvorak Te Deum. She is currently working on a solo recording featuring original arrangements of the music of Joni Mitchell and Jann Arden. She has a concert tour planned for January with world percussion duo, Jamani and will be starring in the Western Canada premiere of a new musical by Canadian playwright, GaRRy Williams. She is a singer with Pro Coro Canada, one of Canada’s professional choirs, as well as with the Canadian Chamber Choir. In addition to her stage work, she has a flourishing voice studio at MacEwan University Conservatory of Music in Edmonton, Alberta.

http://www.kimdenis.com/

 


Tenor Vocal Coach: RJ Chambers

RJ Chambers began his love of music in early childhood. He started studying piano as a young boy and began vocal and choral training shortly after.

After graduating from high school, RJ pursued a Bachelor of Arts degree in Music with an emphasis in vocal performance and graduated with honours. In the summer of 2014, RJ completed a Masters in Music degree in Choral Conducting at the University of Alberta under the direction of Dr. Leonard Ratzlaff.

RJ currently teaches voice, piano, and advanced music theory in Spruce Grove and accompanies vocalists at many local events. RJ serves as the Chair of the Parkland Music Festival and President of the Parkland Music Teachers’ Association and has recently sung with Da Camera Singers and the University of Alberta Madrigal Singers. As a conductor, RJ has served as the Choral Assistant for Da Camera Singers and currently serves as the Music Director for the Parkland Celebration Choir.

 


Bass Vocal Coach: David McCune

David McCune is pursuing a degree in voice performance at The King’s University.

In addition to serving as the Bass Vocal Coach for Edmonton Metropolitan Chorus, David sings with i Coristi Chamber Choir, Pro Coro Canada, Pro Coro Connect, and Chronos Vocal Ensemble.

He wishes he had more time to read good books.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Brett Ludwig, Resident Choral Arranger

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sam Seo, Special Projects Coordinator

 

Honorary Ambassador, Gangwon Province
Arts Director, Korean Canadian Association, Edmonton
General Manager/Director, Edmonton Korean Association
Director, Alberta Weekly Newspaper
Director, 2012 Expo Music Festival, Korea
Director, 2010 Winter Olympics Asian Music Festival, Vancouver
Honorary Ambassador 2010 World Expo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Board Members:

Executive:

Chair: Marc Letourneau – marc.letourneau@edmetrochorus.ca

Vice Chair: Heather Rodgers – heather.rodgers@edmetrochorus.ca

Treasurer: Chris Moore – chris.moore@edmetrochorus.ca

Secretary: Alex Hawkins – alex.hawkins@edmetrochorus.ca

Past Chair: Les Bell – les.bell@edmetrochorus.ca

Ex Officio Members:

David Garber – david.garber@edmetrochorus.ca

Debbie Titus – debbie.titus@edmetrochorus.ca

Members at Large:

Timothy J. Campbell – timothy.campbell@edmetrochorus.ca

Rosemarie Fink – rosemarie.fink@edmetrochorus.ca

Monica Gackle – monica.gackle@edmetrochorus.ca

Deb Gerow – deb.gerow@edmetrochorus.ca

Georgette Holyk – georgette.holyk@edmetrochorus.ca

Shauna Kotschorek – shauna.kotschorek@edmetrochorus.ca

Roberta Shell – roberta.shell@edmetrochorus.ca

Angela Smythe – angela.smythe@edmetrochorus.ca

 

 


Chorus Members:

Edmonton Metropolitan Chorus is a chorus for men and women of all ages and abilities, all sizes & shapes, all colours & backgrounds. It is a chorus where all can feel safe and accepted. It is a chorus through which all can explore the wonders of music.